Shell E&P Ireland win business category of Road Safety Authority Leading Lights in Road Safety Awards 2013

BITCI News - Jan 27, 2014

Shell shine a light awardShell E&P Ireland (SEPIL) have been recognised by the Road Safety Authority for their commitment to road safety. They were presented with a Leading Lights award in the Business category by RSA chairman Gay Byrne at a function in Farmleigh House recently.

A total of 29 awards were presented at the ceremony which was hosted by Ray D’Arcy and attended by almost 200 award winners. The awards celebrate the outstanding efforts of individuals and groups throughout the country who help promote road safety in their communities.

SEPIL began their Safe Driving Programme in 2008 by providing defensive driving course for all its employees on the Corrib Gas terminal and have added on addition road safety awareness campaigns over the years.

In addition to the Defensive Driving Courses, which is mandatory for all Shell staff, contractors, sub-contractors, and suppliers on the Corrib project, SEPIL has  produced a Safe Driving DVD which focuses on driver behaviour and has joined with the RSA and Ibec West to promote the campaign in the West.

The company has also distributed over 1500 personal safety kits, to both Corrib workers and the wider community.  These kits include driver, cyclist, and pedestrian safety items. A further element, aimed at second level students in Erris is the Safe Driving Programme which is rolled out to all TY and fifth year students in the four local secondary schools.

Other road safety initiatives that form part of Shell’s holistic approach include providing Professional Driver CPC courses in the Erris region – Shell facilitated the registration of a training centre in Erris and have sponsored various modules of this mandatory course, which has resulted in reduced exposure on the roads as previously the nearest training centres were a 100 mile round trip distance.

Pictured above: from left Michael Crothers (MD SEPIL), Mary Carolan, Fiona Togher, Darryl Gill, Gay Byrne (Chairman RSA), Marian Grealis and Vinny Kelly.