Dublin Bus lands prestigious Lord Mayor’s Award

Members News - Community - Oct 30, 2019


Dublin Bus received the prestigious Lord Mayor’s Award, making them the first transport provider in the State to do so. The award was given for Dublin Bus’ commitment to providing an accessible service for all, as demonstrated by the work of their Travel Assistance Scheme. Winners were announced by the Lord Mayor of Dublin, Councillor Paul McAuliffe, at a special awards ceremony at the Mansion House.

Dublin Bus launched the Travel Assistance Scheme in 2008 and since then it has helped thousands of people across the city and county. It encourages inclusivity across public transport by providing a personalised travel service to customers aged 18 and over who have mobility and/or learning disabilities. Completely free of charge, the scheme helps customers to independently use, not just Dublin Bus, but the DART and the Luas too. This vital service is funded by the National Transport Authority as part of the TFI public transport network. For more information on the Travel Assistance Scheme, please click here.

Dublin Bus travel assistants meet a customer at his or her home before they make the first step of using public transport. A tailor‐made travel plan is then drawn up to meet each person’s needs. Speaking about the Lord Mayor’s Award, Chief Executive Ray Coyne said “As CEO of Dublin Bus, I am very proud to lead an organisation that is an industry leader in accessibility. Public transport enables all people in our society to fully participate in work, social and leisure activities that Dublin offers.

It’s a huge honour to accept this award on behalf of Dublin Bus. The award recognises the success of the Dublin Bus Travel Assistance Programme over the last 11 years. It also recognises our commitment to delivering accessible and inclusive bus services for the communities and people we serve across the entire Greater Dublin Area.”

Since 1989 the Lord Mayor’s Awards have honoured individuals and groups who have made a special contribution to Dublin and its citizens either at a local or city‐wide level. These awards are Dublin city’s way of acknowledging and congratulating the extraordinary work they do.

Previous recipients have included Jim Gavin, Ronnie Delaney, Dave Fanning, Maeve Binchy, Merchant’s Quay Ireland, Marty Whelan, Brian O’Driscoll, Adi Roche, Capuchin Day Centre, Ellen Keane, Philly McMahon, Damien Dempsey and Jimmy Magee.


Related News